Department of Energy Business

Department of Energy Business

Department of Energy Business

Energy Ministry The Ministry of Energy is responsible for energy acquisition, development, and administration, as well as other responsibilities specified in applicable law as the Ministry’s or its departments’ power and duties. The following departments report to the Ministry of Energy, along with their respective responsibilities:

  1.  Minister’s Office: Responsible for and supportive of the Minister of Energy’s political missions in collaboration with the cabinet, Parliament, and the general public; and coordinates answers to inquiries, clarifications on motions, legislation, and other political related problems.
  2. Permanent Secretary’s Office: Develop strategies and convert Ministry policies into action plans, distribute resources and manage personnel to accomplish the Ministry’s goals and missions, and coordinate international energy cooperation.
  3. Department of Alternative Energy Development and Efficiency (DEDE): Promote energy efficiency, monitor energy conservation efforts, conduct research into alternative energy sources, and disseminate energy related technology.
  4. Department of Energy Business (DOEB): Regulate energy quality and safety standards, including their environmental and security implications, and continuously enhance standards to safeguard customers’ interests.
  5. Department of Mineral Fuels (DMF): Promote and expedite energy procurement by enabling exploration and development of energy resources both in Thailand and overseas.
  6. Energy Policy and Planning Office (EPPO): Make recommendations on national energy policies and planning, establish energy measures, and implement preventive and corrective measures in the event of an oil shortage, in order to ensure an adequate and efficient energy supply that is consistent with the country’s economic conditions.

The following are the State Enterprises under the Ministry of Energy:

  1. Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand
  2. Metropolitan Electricity Authority (MEA)
  3. Provincial Electricity Authority (PEA)

The following two autonomous public companies are administered by the Ministry of Energy:

  1. PTT Public Company Limited (PTT)
  2. Bangchak Corporation Public Company Limited (BCP)

The following are the Public Organizations:

  1. The Energy Fund Administration Institute (EFAI).
  2. The Electricity Regulatory Board (ERB)

Department of Energy Business (DOEB)

Department of Energy Business, as mentioned above, is the department under the Ministry of Energy and is responsible for quality and safety regulations for any energy business in the Kingdom of Thailand to ensure quality and safety standards are being followed for any manufacturers or organizations which are doing business related with Energy and fuels. DOEB is in charge of releasing mandatory regulations and standards for business-entrepreneur to comply in order to do business in Thailand and is also in charge of inspecting, verifying and approving for related certificates and verifications for equipment, activities and tools related to energy business, as well as, updating and revising those standards and measurements from time to time as per international alteration. DOEB Missions:

  1. Supervise the security, safety, trade quality and environment of the energy business in accordance with good governance principles.
  2. To be the country’s energy business information center
  3. Enhancing knowledge on energy for entrepreneurs and people
  4. Promote the energy business to have fair competition protect consumers and people
  5. Develop standards, quality, and safety of the energy business to meet international standards.

DOEB Visions: Supervise the energy business according to international standards by good governance. As DOEB is the regulator and enhancer for any Energy related business in Thailand, it is mandatory and necessary to align and work with DOEB for safe and complete operation of energy and natural fuel resources.